Crowd Worships at the Base of a Monument
Photo by Itamar Ramot

The Department of South Asian Languages & Civilizations at the University of Chicago

Founded in 1966, the department emphasizes the comprehensive humanistic understanding of the South Asian region. Historical, social, literary, and political issues of South Asia are addressed here through close textual analysis and detailed studies of South Asian cultural forms.  Preeminently, SALC emphasizes linguistic study and textual analysis; SALC's faculty, alumni, and students are at the forefront of the humanistic study of the region globally.  The department regularly offers instruction in seven South Asian languages (Bangla, Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Tibetan, and Urdu).

Persian is also available, mainly through the Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, though some advanced courses in the language are also offered through SALC.

The research interests of individual faculty members are described in the faculty pages of the Department's website.

The Department is a central part of a vibrant scholarly community focusing on Southern Asia throughout the University.  Faculty and students collaborate across the University's Divisions and School; many of these activities are orchestrated by the Committee on Southern Asian Studies.