The Department of South Asian Languages and Civilizations (SALC) in the Division of the Humanities, founded in 1966, emphasizes a text-based approach. Historical, social, literary, and political issues of South Asia are addressed here through fine-grained textual analysis and studies of South Asian textual traditions. That is why training in South Asian languages - four years minimum for the language of concentration, two years minimum for the secondary language - is seen as an integral part of the department's program. The languages regularly taught in the department are:

  • Bangla
  • Hindi
  • Marathi
  • Sanskrit
  • Tamil
  • Tibetan
  • Urdu