Faculty

Muzaffar Alam

Muzaffar Alam

George V. Bobrinskoy Professor in South Asian Languages and Civilizations

Foster Hall 201
(773) 834-2809
alam@uchicago.edu
Urdu and Indian Persian literature, history of late medieval and early modern northern India.
Elena Bashir

Elena Bashir

Senior Lecturer

Foster Hall 214
(773) 702-8632
ebashir@uchicago.edu
Urdu and Panjabi. Languages of Pakistan.
Dipesh Chakrabarty

Dipesh Chakrabarty

Lawrence A. Kimpton Distinguished Service Professor of History, South Asian Languages and Civilizations and the College.

Foster Hall 208
(773) 702-8642
dchakrab@uchicago.edu
Modern Indian social and political history, modern Bengal, Labor history, Asian studies, philosophical discourses of modernity, and postcolonial theory.
Steven Collins

Steven Collins

Chester D. Tripp Professor in the Humanities

Foster Hall 215
s-collins@uchicago.edu
Pali language and literature; social and cultural history of Buddhism.
On leave Autumn 2016.

Whitney Cox

Associate Professor

Foster Hall 205
(773) 834-0772
wmcox@uchicago.edu
Sanskrit language and literature; premodern Tamil language and literature; the history of medieval South India

Chair of the SALC Department

Thibaut d'Hubert

Assistant Professor

Foster Hall 211
(773) 702-1333
dhubert@uchicago.edu
Bangla language and literature, history of translation, Indo-Persian culture, Sufism, cultural interactions between South and Southeast Asia.

 

Wendy Doniger

Wendy Doniger

Mircea Eliade Distinguished Service Professor of the History of Religions in the Divinity School, Department of South Asian Languages and Civilizations, Committee on Social Thought, the College

Swift Hall 207
(773) 702-8239
don8@uchicago.edu
Hinduism and comparative mythology.
Sascha Ebeling

Sascha Ebeling

Associate Professor

Foster Hall 203
(773) 834-2788
ebeling@uchicago.edu
Tamil language and literature; South Indian cultural history; Comparative Literature.
On leave Autumn 2016.

Philip Engblom

Senior Lecturer

Foster 009
(773) 702-8373
engblom@uchicago.edu
Marathi language and literature; Anglo-Marathi writers; Marathi language pedagogy.
Jason Grunebaum

Jason Grunebaum

Senior Lecturer in Hindi

Kelly 101
jgrune@uchicago.edu
Hindi language.

Rochona Majumdar

Associate Professor
Foster 213
(773) 834-2966
r-majumdar@uchicago.edu
History of gender, marriage, and family in India; modern Indian cultural and political history, modern Bengal, Indian cinema, postcolonial history and theory.
 
Director of Graduate Studies in SALC.
Karma Ngodup

Karma Ngodup

Lecturer
Swift 406A
karma@uchicago.edu
Tibetan

Matthew Rich

Lecturer
Foster 206
(773)834-2933
Bangla language and literature.

 

 

Ulrike Stark

Ulrike Stark

Professor

Foster 202
(773) 834-2814
ustark@uchicago.edu
Hindi language and literature, print culture and book history in South Asia, North Indian intellectual culture in the 19th and 20th centuries, Hindi-Urdu interface.
On leave 2016-17.
 
Gary Tubb

Gary Tubb

Anupama and Guru Ramakrishnan Professor

Foster 207
(773) 834-2825
tubb@uchicago.edu
Sanskrit language and literature, Indian philosophy, history of Sanskrit linguistic and literary theory.

 

Tyler Williams

Assistant Professor

Foster 210
(773) 834-6450
twwilliams@uchicago.edu
Hindi-Urdu literature, South Asian literature, aesthetics, and intellectual history.

Director of Undergraduate Studies SALC

 

Visiting Faculty

E. Annamalai

E. Annamalai

Visiting Professor in Tamil

Foster Hall 511
annamalaie@uchicago.edu
Tamil language and literature, Tamil grammatical tradition, language policy and problems in India.

 

 

E. Annamalai

David Shulman

Vivekananda Professor

ddschulman@uchicago.edu
.

 

 

Associated Faculty

D. Arnold

Daniel A. Arnold

Associate Professor of the Philosophy of Religions in the Divinity School

Swift Hall 401A
daarnold@uchicago.edu
Indian Buddhist Philosophy
C. Wedemeyer

Christian K. Wedemeyer

Associate Professor of the History of Religions in the Divinity School

Swift Hall 310B
wedemeyer@uchicago.edu
Tibetan language and literature; Sanskrit; Indian and Tibetan Buddhism; theory of religion